Skip to content

10 phrases your MOM will love to hear in Spanish

May 7, 2010

With the upcoming Mother’s day holiday I could not resist the temptation to share some phrases she would love to hear in Spanish, even if she does not speak the language.

After all Spanish is among the six most widely spoken Romance languages in the world.

Tell her in Spanish
Te quiero mucho
Eres la mejor madre del mundo
Siempre estás en mi mente
Te llevo en mi corazón
Soy el hombre/mujer más dichosa del mundo por tenerte como madre
Estoy bendecido por tener una madre como tu
Gracias por darme la vida
Todos mis abrazos son para ti
Eres una madre a todo dar
Como tú no hay nadie

English translation
I love you so much
You are the best mother of the world
You are always on my mind
I carry you in my heart
I am the luckiest man/woman in the world for having you as a mother
I am blessed for having a mother like you
Thanks for giving me life
All my hugs are yours
You are an awesome mother
There is no one like you

Conclusion

In all, every mom has a story to tell, and regardless of where you are from, this remains true: mom’s bring life to this world!

Do you have any other phrases you would like to share?

87 Comments leave one →
  1. Raul Alanis permalink
    May 7, 2010 1:42 pm

    Thanks for the spanish refresher! Spanish is a great language to know and I only wish I was better at it!

    http://www.wutevs.wordpress.com

  2. May 7, 2010 1:45 pm

    Great blog, thanks for sharing!

  3. May 7, 2010 2:11 pm

    I have to agree that its an interesting idea. When I was younger I used to say special little spanish sentences to my mother and even though she could not understand what I was saying I knew she loved the thought of me trying.

  4. May 7, 2010 2:28 pm

    So sweet! Thanks for sharing…

  5. May 7, 2010 2:44 pm

    yes,

    “Te extraño mucho”
    ( I miss you )

    cheers,
    Diosich

  6. May 7, 2010 3:03 pm

    Very cute, unfortunately, if I started speaking spanish, the only who would understand me would be me! lol I spent 4 years of learning spanish, however my mom doesn’t know any of it. To her, I’m just adding -o or -a onto some english words and the rest is jibberish! Ha!

  7. May 7, 2010 3:34 pm

    very Informative! I’m giving those phrases a try now!!:D
    Thanks for sharing:)

  8. May 7, 2010 3:40 pm

    How fun! Thanks for sharing :)

  9. Mag... permalink
    May 7, 2010 3:47 pm

    I think it is not about words ..

    It’s about how to treat her , you can say .. but do nothing

    On the other hand you can say nothing , but your behavior and treatment with her make her feel your appreciation , your feelings …… your love.

  10. jason moor permalink
    May 7, 2010 4:09 pm

    just wondering what the spanish word for grandmother is, is it just a suffix onto mother?
    how would you say,

    grandma, you bring meaning and purpose to every day and have set a high standard for all that are privledged enough to have you in their life?

    • May 8, 2010 12:40 pm

      Grandma=Abuelita. ” Abuelita, usted trae significado y propósito a cada día, y a puesto un estándar alto para todos los que tienen el privilegio de tenerla en su vida” :)

    • May 10, 2010 9:33 am

      Grandmother = Abuela

      Some families use the word “abuela” others use “abuelita”.
      Nice blog.

      Saludos!

  11. Andrea permalink
    May 7, 2010 5:47 pm

    My mother would love to hear those especially since Spanish is her first language, but I know just enough to cause trouble. LOL Thank you for sharing!

  12. May 7, 2010 10:03 pm

    Es todo lo que puedo decir hoy. I remember that from learning Spanish in Mexico :). And, maybe some mothers would LOVE to hear their children say that. This was so nice to see–thanks!

    • May 8, 2010 12:36 pm

      Gracias Heather…keep coming back. I’m writing more on things that I think will help you remember, and if you want me to address a specific topic, I will be glad to help.

  13. May 7, 2010 10:20 pm

    I speak very little spanish, but I read all you phrases. As a mom, I would like to say when something is said in sincerity, from the heart, it really moves me and makes me thankful.Enough said.

  14. May 8, 2010 3:30 am

    I love this. What a great idea. Maybe someone would like to post the same sentiments in other languages.
    Anyway, thanks. I’ll ring Mum tomorrow and tell her in Spanish: ‘there is no-one like you.’

  15. thanks a lot permalink
    May 8, 2010 4:25 am

    thanks. appreciate your willingness to help, despite your claim to be some sort of teacher.

    • May 8, 2010 12:33 pm

      Thanks for your response. Actually, I am not a teacher per say. Lets say that I made a business of, sharing…

  16. May 8, 2010 4:30 am

    Just a few typos:
    «Siempre estás (with accent)…»
    «…como tú (with accent)»
    «…para ti (no accent)»

  17. May 8, 2010 10:28 am

    cool….!

    you make me miss my mom..!

  18. Songbird permalink
    May 8, 2010 12:17 pm

    What a fabulous blog you have! Que guay blog tu tienes! I have been trying to learn spanish on my own- with variable results…lol… but I love, me encanta, what you are doing with the blog! I am subscribing!

    • May 8, 2010 12:28 pm

      Thank you Songbird…I will continue writing more things that may help you out in your Spanish pursuit.

  19. May 8, 2010 1:43 pm

    fascinating post. I think everything sounds prettier in another language.

  20. May 8, 2010 2:29 pm

    ooh, i’ve never heard “a todo dar.” is that particular to a region or just spanish i’ve never learned before?

    • May 8, 2010 10:02 pm

      “a todo dar” particularly expression used in my family, but guessing Central America.

      • Hector permalink
        May 8, 2010 10:10 pm

        “A todo dar” is a Spanish use originated in Mexico. It initially meant a person who gives his all to a particular task, but was adopted as a way to point out something as cool or great.

  21. May 8, 2010 3:52 pm

    as the saying goes: madre no hay más que una y a tí te encontré en la calle. For me it is great and sweet!!

  22. sarahy permalink
    May 8, 2010 4:53 pm

    Hermoso texto. excelente para que un hijo(a) lo escriba en una tarjeta y lo obsequie a su madre este 10 de mayo. creo que el amor esta por encima de las barreras de cualquier idioma.
    gracias por escribir algo tan bello como los sentimientos para una madre.
    me encanto el blog…
    hoy puede ser un gran día = )

    • May 8, 2010 10:07 pm

      Oh también puedes escribirlo en 10 corazones y distribuirlos en varias partes de la casa para que tu madre los encuentre durante el día. :) Gracias por tu comentario.

  23. May 8, 2010 6:31 pm

    Everyone has or had a mother. So Happy Mothers Day one and all.

  24. May 8, 2010 6:54 pm

    Dear Hamlet, I’m just studying Spanish right now to my test next Monday. What a coincidence finding out your blog in the moment I opened my wordpress page. A mi me gustó mucho su pagina. It is trully nice. Congratulations. Saludos, Valeria

  25. Hector permalink
    May 8, 2010 8:18 pm

    I just saw your blog at the WordPress homepage and I think the phrases are cute and lovely. I particularly smiled a lot with the use of “a todo dar”. Muchas gracias por el tu artículo. Seguiré tu blog, pues me gustan mucho las diversas actividades que estás promoviendo.

  26. emily permalink
    May 8, 2010 8:55 pm

    go 2 emily1209.wordpress.com and thx 4 the spanish advice

  27. joh permalink
    May 8, 2010 9:13 pm

    Haha, also Spanish is the cheesiest language I know of. This is actually normal discourse, though I’m guessing the author’s from Colombia or thereabouts. Thanks a million for reminding me of dia de las madres too!

  28. May 8, 2010 11:45 pm

    These are great and 7 of them are perfect for our wives too! I’ll score huge points with my spanish speaking wife tomorrow. Thanks man.

  29. May 9, 2010 2:36 am

    This is great! Thanks for sharing the idea.

    Alan

  30. May 9, 2010 6:49 am

    Hey, great blog you got here! I study spanish so this is really helpful.

    • May 9, 2010 6:19 pm

      Thanks Malin, hope the information I post can be beneficial and feel free to drop me a line if you need help. I try to respond to as many as possible when time allows me.

  31. May 9, 2010 8:17 am

    Very interesting blog, Hamlet, I’ll be back to read some more. Not sure I agree with the comment that Spanish is “the cheesiest language” – have they not listened to any Italian lately? And you and your readers might like to get involved in El Día E – Spanish Language Day – on June 19. There’s loads of internet (and ‘real’) stuff happening. Full info at http://www.eldiae.es

    • May 9, 2010 6:17 pm

      Thank you…hope to see you here often then, and I agree with you about the comment, but I decided to leave it because, that is one of the reasons I started the blog: to help in whatever means I can to promote Spanish, and in my case in the way I do it through my programs, through Art and Music. There is much to be done and I see many are already benefiting from it, so this is very positive.

  32. May 9, 2010 8:57 am

    This is awesome! I’m so gonna write all 6 Spanish and English ones on my Mum’s birthday card! Thank you! (:

  33. jordania permalink
    May 9, 2010 10:26 am

    muito doce, foi o maximo ter lidu é muituh linduh.
    amei de ♥

  34. May 9, 2010 12:58 pm

    Brazilian Portuguese translation :)

    Eu te amo muito
    Você é a melhor mãe do mundo
    Você sempre está na minha mente
    Carrego você no meu coração
    Eu sou a pessoa mais sortuda do mundo por ter você como mãe
    Eu sou abençoado por ter uma mãe como você
    Obrigado por me dar vida
    Todos meus abraços são para você
    Você é uma mãe fantástica
    Não há ninguém como você

    Feliz Dia das Mães!

  35. May 9, 2010 2:38 pm

    awesoem posts happy mothers day haha!

    love it xx
    http://www.futuretunez.com

  36. May 9, 2010 10:25 pm

    My mother passed away last November. I wanna say “I miss you so, much, mum. Te llevo en mi corazón”

    • May 10, 2010 7:50 am

      Sorry about your loss. May I suggest you to do a collage of words and phrases of things you used to tell her as an art piece for you to keep. As an artist I find myself doing just that for many things. Thanks for taking the time to read my post.

  37. May 9, 2010 11:15 pm

    This is so sweet! To tell you the truth, growing up in an immigrant home, I have trouble conversing with my mother in a mix of Mandarin and English. Sometimes we even talk with a dictionary.

    • May 10, 2010 7:46 am

      That’s a story worth telling, true for many families. Keep it going because we can say a lot with just a few words that mean well.

  38. May 10, 2010 12:46 am

    good article, eager to make the Indonesian version of this article

    sorry for my bad english :D

  39. May 10, 2010 1:22 am

    Guess I will have to start learning Spanish now

  40. Jodha permalink
    May 10, 2010 3:30 am

    really Nice Thanks for sharing with us

  41. May 16, 2010 1:07 pm

    This blog is very good. Thanks for this. I will bookmark this page.

  42. May 16, 2010 2:14 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers

  43. Lucy de Romero permalink
    November 5, 2012 1:24 pm

    how do you say Happy Birthday to a dear nephew who is turning 44 today!

  44. Dayana permalink
    March 26, 2013 2:56 pm

    Wow thank you so much thank you!!!!!!! ;)

  45. June 21, 2013 4:28 pm

    Thanks a lot my mom loved it

  46. November 30, 2013 9:14 pm

    I love the poems

  47. Isha permalink
    January 29, 2014 9:15 pm

    I honestly think that this is the best thing ever since the beginning of earth I tried it on my mom and she loved it.

    Thanks. 😜

  48. April 22, 2014 3:24 am

    I ɑppreciate, result in I discovered exactly what I used to
    be having a look for. Yoս have eոded mmy foir day lengthy
    hunt!God Bless yօu man. Have ɑ great day.
    Bye

Trackbacks

  1. Mothers Day « A Thought or Two

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

